Introduction - Where to invest 200k

Hi all,
Been reading this forum on and off for the past couple of years and I have to say there is loads of very interesting content here.

I’m 35, moved to Switzerland 2 years ago and currently living in Geneva. I’m married but don’t (yet) have kids. Mrs S has been struggling a bit to find a job since we moved here so we are both living off my salary (we are both non-EU). We live quite a simple life and are not big spenders, and I would say on average I am able to easily save 3/4k a month after tax, before bonuses.

I’m a bit of a noob when it comes to investing and had never really taken the time to look into it, either because I was at the beginning of my career and wasn’t earning enough, or through living in low-cost countries where I would be comfortable locally, but my savings were getting eaten up by inflation and currency devaluation. Ever since moving to Switzerland (and also through promotions in my job) my net worth has significantly increased, to the extent that about 65% of my current savings I have accumulated since arriving here 2 years ago.

I currently have about 200k of savings of which:

• 20% is invested in stocks
  • 30% in very low interest French savings accounts (Livret A, LDD, PEL, etc…)
  • 50% is just sitting around in my current accounts getting eaten up by inflation (I know…)

When I first moved here I was thinking of putting some money towards buying a flat/property in France to rent (targeting net cash flow positive opportunities), but I didn’t really move forward with it due to a variety of factors, including:

• Never having bought a property before and having to buy one without visiting it physically (there are companies that do this for you)
  • The only bank I spoke to didn’t want to lend me as much as I wanted
  • I was under the impression that the tax impact on my Swiss tax rate and Swiss wealth tax was probably going to wipe out most of what I was earning through rent.