1000000CHF's Journal

Hello Ladies & Gents!

I already made on that forum a significant number of comments (mostly questions) and I guess it’s high time to introduce myself. My name is Tomasz. I’m a Polish Fi-seeker living in beautiful Zug. I work as a, so called, “DevOps Engineer” in a, so called, “FinTech” startup (we’re developing a pretty cool wealth management app that I’d love to use for my own investments, but I can’t afford it :stuck_out_tongue: ). Before that I worked for a year on the Genevian-French border for CERN. (So after spending one year in la Suisse romande and on year in der Zentralschweiz, I still can’t speak neither French, nor German - and my English also sucks badly.) Before CERN, I have worked for various IT companies in Warsaw for about 5 years.

My FI obsession started with reading Mr. @_MP’s blog (and from his website, I followed MMM and other FI blogs) end of the last year. I already knew for quite a long time that there are better options than keeping savings in the bank, but just didn’t know how to start. From first readings, I’ve figured out that I need a retirement account and then I’ve learnt that in Switzerland you can actually cash out your account when you’re leaving the country (I still don’t know how long I’ll stay here). I’ve opened 3a account at UBS and starting reading up on UBS investments funds. That research led me to Mustachian Post blog where I’ve discovered that UBS actively-managed funds are ridiculously expensive. I’ve asked them if they have low-cost passive funds and they said “no”. Thus following MP’s advice, I’ve moved my 3a account to LUKB and started investing into Swisscanto passive fund.