Which Broker would be the best for my "special" situation?

Hello Guys!
Before I want to say sorry for my bad english writing as it’s not my first language.

I am in search of a Broker, I am with siwssquote right now but now I heard of IBKR.
I am a Swiss-Residence.

S for my “special” situation: I am currently studying and can invest 500-1k CHF every Month. But after my studies I can invest 3-4k CHF every month.
Bc if that I don’t know what broker would be the best, as I don’t want to change Broker all the time.
I saw that IBKR only secures your assets up to 500k$ (not the cash, the stocks etc) And SQ secures unlimited amounts.

I am right now investing in US ETF’s (VT, SHCD ect) and also in US stocks but also in CH stocks and CH ETF’s.

I thought of just staying with SQ bc after my studies I can invest way more and I want to be with only one Broker to get the most out of. “zinseszins”.

What do you guys think about? And thanks for your time and answers!

I will say you should register to IBKR like 78% participants of this forum

1 Like

IBKR is likely the best choice for you, now and after graduation, especially as you’re investing in US ETFs and stocks where IBKR has much lower total fees than Swissquote.

There are a couple of advantages of Swissquote for CH stocks and funds. One is that you can register your CH shares such that you can e.g. attend the AGMs. Another is that Swiss mutual funds are available at Swissquote but not IBKR. If you don’t care about these aspects, I’d suggest IBKR for everything. Otherwise, you could consider Swissquote for Swiss investments and IBKR for everything else (that’s what I’m doing).

IBKR accounts are insured up to USD 500k through SIPC and IBKR does have an excess insurance for higher amounts (but with a low cap across the whole broker). However, in case of broker bankruptcy without (major) fraud, you still get all your shares back even if you hold many millions at IBKR.