When to start investing in ETFs

Hello Mustachians!

I’m new to this forum, so first of all I’d like to thank you all for your invaluable contributions.

I’m a software engineer living in Zurich since 2018, and even though I’ve been following the Mustachian lifestyle for quite a bit of time now, I’ve never invested any money in financial instruments other than time deposit accounts. I’d like to invest my money in ETFs in hope for higher return.

From what I’ve read at the forum, one should never try timing the market by investing a large sum all at once, as it (almost) never works. Instead, one should do dollar cost averaging to reduce the risk of investing in market peaks.

But I’m a bit sceptical about whether it’s a good time to start investing now, given the fact that the US stock market is at its all time high now, and that there are a lot of indicators of a possible recession in the coming year. The prospect of being underwater in the first few years of my investment doesn’t fill me with optimism.

“The best time to plant a tree was 20 years ago. The second best time is now.” Chinese Proverb

Best time to invest was yesterday. The second best time is now :slight_smile:
No avantage of dollar cost average based on backtests. Google should give some answer on this pt.

2 Likes

That said, if it helps lower anxiety it’s a very good reason. @americano, first you need to figure out your allocation (what’s important is that you’ll sleep well at night, and you’ll stick to it even in large market downturns). After that, DCA indeed lowers the risk of market movement (at the cost of lower returns) but what matters if that you feel good about your decision.