Viac + Early Withdrawal

Hello everyone,

I (30M) going to begin to allocate money to a 3A fund for the first time. Thank to this blog/forum I discovered VIAC that seems to be the perfect option as my money will not rot away in a BCV 3A account. However, I have 2 doubts that I was not ablte to answer.

First, I might be leaving Switzerland in let’s 5 years or more. When the time to leave will come (if it ever comes…) I fear that it will be mandatory to withdraw my 3A. Thus, at the time being depending how it goes, I could actually lose money. The optimal solution would be to be able to leave Switzerland and withdraw my 3a when I want it. Of course, I couldn’t keep investing in it except for the compounded interest, but that’s fine for me. After some calls with advisers they confirmed me it was possible to do so, but I haven’t found anything written online about this matter. Does someone of you know something about this ?

Secondly, what strategy do you use for VIAC ? I am new to investing (I don’t even know about the rebalancing they’re talking about). In this context, I thought going with Global 100 instead and maybe later down the road, when I have more experiences, picking some ETF myself. If you have any book you recommend to start learning about investing in a mustachian way, I would gladly look into it.

Thanks 

Global 100 is the way to go. The effort of choosing your own ETF will probably not effect returns much.
I implemented a custom strategy with the goal of reducing the fees even further. So I tweaked another 0.01% of fees. However I will only see whether my strategy performs better in like 20 years or so. Thus, I cannot say that I would recommend doing it.