Tips on how to choose an ebike?

Total noob here, I only know Bosch makes good engines. Happy to buy used, but I wonder if that’s a good idea for ebikes. Any tips?

I don’t know about used e-bikes, I am looking into buying a new one. Several cantons offer subsidies up to 15% of the price (Vaud: https://www.vd.ch/themes/mobilite/loffre-de-mobilite-a-votre-disposition/velo-et-marche/velo-electrique/).

For a used e-bike the battery may need to be replaced. Apart from that the power output of the engine will be important. In my case, living in a hilly area and planning to transport my kid on the bike, I would need at least a “Performance Line” engine from Bosch (65 Nm).

I would go to a shop and get some expert advice depending on your needs. Battery, engine, brand, they are determining factors for the purchase price.

1 Like

Don’t know about used e-bikes, but - motor (electricity), not engine (combustion). :grin:

Edit: OK I admit, it might have evolved to be synonymous today. :slight_smile:

1 Like

I don’t think such subsidies exist in ZH, unfortunately.

I can’t help much either, but I can tell you this: Some models have the motor built onto (into?) the wheel axis and some have the motor built into the pedal’s axis. All else being equal (which it isn’t, but I have no clue about other things) you should prefer the ones that apply the motor power to the wheel directly because then you have less load on the chain.

Some anecdata: I’ve had some bad experiences with Flyers (the brand, they apply power at the pedals) breaking the chain sadly often. And pushing an ebike is even less fun than with a regular bike. Guess how I know…

3 Likes

Aaah I see someone else saw the Publibike spike :slight_smile:

1 Like

I have a different opinion. I have bought, used or new, resold etc 3 ebike now.
The motor in the wheel cause an inertial load since is moving mass that is really not nice to have, particularly at higher speed.