The general guide to insurances in Switzerland

Since insurance is a topic where I have some knowledge I allow myself a longer answer

Life insurance makes sense only if you are worried what would happen to your family if you die. (Which is a reasonable concern to have if you have kids) Then you should buy life insurance without any savings component (Risikolebensversicherung). It’s like a bet. You pay a certain amount of money every year and if you die, your family gets a chunk of money. If you live, nobody gets anything.

By the way insurance agents always try to include some savings component in the life insurance which is definitely not the optimal solution for mustachians.

@julianek is of course right. If you have enough money aside you shouldn’t worry about what would happen to your family if you die.

Household insurance is not mandatory. Some landlords request an insurance, but they request private liability (Privathaftpflicht) and this is because the private liability covers damages on the house (Mieterschäden).

Mandatory Insurances in Switzerland are:

1. Basic health insurance (BVG)
  2. liability insurance vor Vehicles (cars, motorcycles, boats, e-bikes with licence plates) if you own one
  3. Building insurance for fire and natural damages (if you own a building) in most of the cantons. (In GE, TI, AI, VS it is not obligatory. In theses 4 Cantons and in UR, SZ, OW you can buy the insurance wherever you like. In the rest of the cantons you are obliged to buy from the cantonal building insurance.)

I really like this approach! This is also according to me the best approach.

If someone is thinking about insurance, the first thing he should be clear about is how much risk he would like to/he can curry himself.

According to the approach above you can optimize the following way. If you decide that you don’t want/can’t curry the risk of all your belongings being lost (by fire or elsehow) but you are willing to curry a risk of eg. CHF 5’000 you