Struggling with career path currently. Any ideas?

So I guess some of you already faced a similar situation so I’d like to ask you for advice. I currently work as a senior engineer in IT, I am 37 years old. I work 100% as technician and avoided working in management until now.
It currently appears to me that I reached the top of what I can achieve as engineer, I get the best ratings for IT skills in my company and I pretty much can choose myself which project I work on.

So here comes the struggle. It’s only 13 years until I hit the age of 50. Do I stay a technician or should I slowly move towards management. I have to admit I love working as engineer and management always appeared a dishonest field to me where you only talk and write Word documents. I sometimes think I couldn’t push myself to go into management. I believe, as a manager, you have to have some kind of a vision for the company to be able to lead people into something meaningful and I think I lack that vision. On the other side I have no idea whether I will be able to learn all the new things in my area when I reach 45.

So I’ll probably work as long as possible, even until 65 but I can’t figure out how to progress in my career. Did you face similar situations? Any suggestions?

1 Like

I don’t work in IT, so make of this what you will.

What is the significance of that “age 50” number to you? I’ve read your other thread but I don’t think we become useless overnight. It can happen at age 50, it can happen at 45, it can happen at 62, it can happen never.