Nuclear Fission: good or bad

Info from the mod: this topic has been split from a different discussion, so it kind of starts without context

Actually nuclear power never made sense from a purely economical view if no nuclear arsenal is involved.

Nuclear power is just damn expensive once you have to decomission the plant.
As a process engineer I had the chance to get the hands on a report, where all the costs of the French civilian nuclear program, as well as future investments needed to maintain the power plants were listed (except military costs to maintain the right governments in place where the mining and transit of uranium takes place). Then you could divide production by this costs and found a substantial higher number than any other form of energy…

Reasons for why nuclear took such a big role in France (>70%) were mostly political, military, and self-interest.

3 Likes

Scary but true… thanks for the detail.

Hypothetically, how the cost of plant decommission could be absorbed?

It should have been calculated into the price over the life cycle. Problem is:

1. Noone knows actually how much it will costs. If you ask in different countries, you will get widely different responses (as much as a factor 4 if I remember well)
  2. Politically, nuclear energy has to be cheaper, so mostly you will see countries like France reducing the price artificially

In the end, this is the top reason why plants life is getting extended in most countries instead of decommissioning them, even if their official life time has been exceeded.

2 Likes

I have seen many smart people advocating for nuclear energy, maybe with Thorium reactors or not. But many people repeated that nuclear is clean and may be our only hope to fight climate change. But I think anybody who is now pushing for nuclear does not see the big picture. I think in 10 years it will be evident for everyone, the economic calculation will be clear: wind + solar + battery will be so much cheaper.

1 Like