Investing+rental guarantee instead of deposit : good or bad plan?

Hi everyone,

I’m Anna, a new French Permit-B resident in Zurich, very nice to meet you :slight_smile:

I recently found an apartment that asks me for a deposit of CHF 6700. I have the money but I was wondering if it wasn’t better to invest them rather than let them rot for > 5 years in an account.

I’m very new to investment so I wanted to check with you if I didn’t make any wrong reasoning in my calculation.

I used this [S&P 500 simulator](https://dqydj.com/sp-500-periodic-reinvestment-calculator-dividends).
Starting date: July 2016
End date: July 2020
Starting Amount: 6700
Monthly Investment : 0

The final value is 11080.97 and since there’s no tax in capital gain, that’s basically (11000 - 6700 =) 4400 in my pocket.

Axa’s rental guarantee is 255/year so 255*5 = 1275 in five years so I’d earn (4400 - 1275=) 3125. Plus given that I don’t have this money blocked, I can start with a bigger starting amount. :thinking:

I’m very surprised by this number because, on the web, I couldn’t find any insurance using this argument to sell their product, so what did I miss here?

Thank you for your answers :slight_smile:

I’ve been a long-time reader and it’s really relieving to see so many people replying.

Have a nice evening!

4 Likes

Your not missing anything, except that past performance is no guarantee for the future.

Generally, those rental deposit solutions are quite expensive, yours/AXAs at below 4% seems to be one if the cheaper ones, but I assume its because it requires you to have a liability insurance (with them?) too…

Also, big real estate companies should be fine with such a solution, smaller ones and private landlords might think you don’t have the money upfront and may opt not to give you the promised contract after all once you propose it.

2 Likes

Hi Anna,