How to efficiently fill your taxes - Geneva

Hello everyone,

I am an accountant/fiscalist in Geneva and I I would like to provide you with a few advices on how to fill your taxes for those of you who live in Geneva. I advise you to use the supplied software and not the web version (GeTax). I won’t go into the exceptions and will remain focused on average taxpayers who work in Geneva.

Let’s get straight to the heart of the matter! We will procede by the section listed in GeTax.

0. Personnal data

Not much to say except if you have children:
0-18: every child earning less than CHF 15’557 per year is deductible (you can also add childcare costs, up until 14 years old, but be careful because it will lower the fixed fees that is already deducted; you have to try different combinations yourself to find the most efficient deductions)
18-25: all children in school who are in the care of their parents and who earn less than CHF 15’557 (a half-tax burden is accepted if they earn between CHF 15’557 and CHF 23’335 and their assets are less than CHF 88’776)

1. Income

This is the section where you record your salary certificate information. Simply report the numbers in the corresponding heading.
I’d like to draw your attention to a few points:

1. Talk to your employer about maximizing your LPP (insure your whole salary up to CHF 88’200); the more you contribute, the less taxes you’ll pay (and the interest and conversion rates applied to compulsory LPP are higher than those applied to buybacks).
  2. I would advise you to buyback LPP whenever possible (unless you want to buy a property quickly by withdrawing it, in which case you should not make any purchases in the 3 years preceding the property purchase). Indeed, you’ll save tax, the LPP buyback will earn interest and the tax savings can be invested on your side (in addition to the buyback purchase).