Geoarbitraging, offshoring, taxes, morality

I’m not a lawyer, but if any of the subscription services would find out what you are doing, they would definitely find some way to sue you.

While thinking about it, are you not cheating the Swiss government for taxes as well, by buying the subscription in a foreign country?

1 Like

I do not know about the legal implications of doing geoarbitrage. I haven’t read the terms and conditions to be honest :wink:
But morally, I cannot support a company who charge people more for the same service just because we live in switzerland. It cannot even be argumented that they have higher labor costs in Switzerland (that would be the case for retail, restaurants, etc where I am happy to spend more btw).

Can you please elaborate? I cannot deduct my Netflix costs from taxes, so I do not see how I would be cheating the Swiss government…

4 Likes

This could be said about many products and services. Almost every product (exact same product, produced at the same place) in Italy is cheaper than in Switzerland, even though the labor cost is sometimes higher (longer transportation).

You don’t pay taxes, but Netflix does and if they make less revenue in Switzerland, because you subscribe in another country, the pay less taxes to the swiss government.

1 Like

I think there is Swiss VAT included in a service like that when bought in Switzerland, but not when doing parallel digital import.

1 Like

I would argue the contrary: I think it’d be morally wrong to charge someone in a lower income country the same absolute number charged to someone living in a high income country.

But I am contributing to derailing the thread.

7 Likes

Hmm. So many many many companies that sell physical goods are morally wrong then. I won’t start to compare iPhone prices here, but you get the point.