FunnyDjo - Presentation

Hi guys,

I discovered this forum with the blog of Mr MP like many of you.
I have been a long time reader of Mr Money Moustache but couldn’t really find an European community that support this mindset and I was glad to find this forum.
I am biking to work (before Covid) since 2015. I was a nice move from public transportation to some sport.
I also like minimalism, enjoying this world through good food, nice travels and less consumerism.
I am a French IT developer 35 y.o. married man to an amazing American wife since 3 years. We have lots of in common but different mindsets especially around money. She will more artsy, foodie, sensible, loving travels and I will be more analytic, geeky and Mr numbers of the family.
We had quite few clashes and arguments on saving/spending money and we had to compromise saving and spending to enjoy our journey on Earth.

I always had some security issues that translated into accumulating cash and saving for troubles. I’d love the idea to FIRE but not sure I will do the big jump. I will be more happy to have more freedom than my classic 8 to 6 job.
I really enjoyed MMM article about Money and Confidence being Interchangeable. The idea being, with a Stash big enough, I could take more risk for a more enjoyable job with less hour constraint.

We still have separate accounts for now and I track my saving rate only:

I am targeting 45% leaving in Geneva as we were saving more 65% leaving on French side.
With a big hit usually on January

We have no car, no kid (for now) and leave below our means. We live in a small flat in the city center and spend mostly on food and travels.

I am able to save 45-65% thanks to my education (master) and field (IT).
My gross salary progression could summarized it as follow.

• 2003-2006: I started with French minimum wages