Freshly roasted coffee?

Is there a mustachian way to buy freshly roasted coffee beans in Switzerland?

I used to buy my coffee over the internet from Cafe Noir. That tastes great but it is too expensive at CHF 26.70 per kilo + postage. I have never found a better option. Coffee from supermarkets doesn’t taste as good and doesn’t seem to say when it was roasted.

Hi Bruce,

I have a subscription at www.hasbean.co.uk . I get 250gr fresh roasted beans every week.
The Mustachain way is to go through “Subscriptions” instead of “International subscriptions” where the shipping is registered and expensive. In normal subscription, I paid 100 GBP for 52 deliveries of 250gr each, which is a fine deal.

I tried several Swiss suppliers and I found out that I’m not that huge a fan coffee roasted the Swiss style. What I get from Hasbean is always roasted at least one level lighter than what you’d usually get from other places which brings out the fruity profiles.

I recommend you get one of the starter packs from Hasbean. They’re a good deal and you’ll probably stay a client.
https://www.hasbean.co.uk/collections/starter-packs

3 Likes

How does the price per kilo work out in practice, glina?

I am happy with the way the coffee from Cafe Noir tastes and my only problem is the overall price.

25 CHF excl. postage, so not much less than what you pay.

I find great value in getting 250gr fresh beans every week. It’s always great coffee, sometimes micro-lots or Cup of Excellence coffees. The founder of Hasbean reviews every coffee before it’s shipped out:
http://inmymug.com/

1 Like

For reference the cheapest beans from Migros cost CHF 4.50/kg. So the freshly roasted ones cost 5x more and that can become a significant monthly cost for a heavy coffee drinker.

I feel like as a Mustachian I should train myself to prefer the cheaper beans by tasting the Badassity in every cup…

1 Like

But why? So you can enjoy coffee on retirement? :slight_smile: