Free Alternative to BCV

Hello world!

After some modifications, I was happily living in Vaud canton with my BCV (Banque Cantonale Vaudoise) accout, free of charge because of the “free if you have more than 10k CHF” condition.

Alas, I just received a letter saying that they are changing the conditions : from 10.2021 the account won’t be free, but will have a monthly fee of 2CHF. It is not that much, but I’d rather buy a sandwich or around half a stock of VWO than giving them for free to the bank.

Do any of you have the same problem? Do you have some advice about other alternatives? For now, the most appealing one I found is Zak - advertised by Mr MP as well - but in Lausanne there aren’t many ATMs for withdrawals, which is annoying, and I could not understand if the transfer to, for example, IB or Revolut CHF account is free of charge or not.

Thanks in advance for your help
Matteo :slight_smile:

What’s your profession?

I’m a doctor :smiley:
And i’m filling the space with blabla, because I have to put at least 20 characters for the answer to be published…

1 Like

What about CSX or Neon ?

If you’re happy with the BCV, why not paying the CHF 2/month ? These fees are reasonable for the services offered.

I closed my Revolut account at the beginning of 2021. I’m using a mix between UBS and Neon, and I’m happy with it.

1 Like

Raiffeisen is currently free if you only use their bank machines. If you want a Maestro card the 1st year is free then 40CHF/yr, allows you one free withdrawal per month in non Raiffeisen ATM. You get free entry to lots of museums and stuff with the Maestro card.

2 Likes

So can I visit you for free and get free meds?

4 Likes

Smells of over-optimisation.
On the other hand, maybe it doesn’t and you’re up to something…

Did you calculate the opportunity costs of “having” more than 10k with BCV rather than investing it somewhere else?