Experience with ZAK (Rant)

So, I have been using ZAK for more than two years now.
I transfer the sum I budgeted for daily expenses and small bills there a pay from there.

I like that it works easily with Google Pay and Apple Pay.
I like the common spending tracking that I use together with my wife.

While the app is simple enough, there are a few gripes I have:

• I have to enter an mTAN EVERY SINGLE TIME. Even for known recipients and tiny sums. I just had to enter one for 1.30 CHF. Come on!
  • No ebills
  • No payment templates, e.g. for payments with reference numbers. If there is no QR code, I have to enter the recipient with address and all. PostFinance does not require this. (I wonā€™t pay anymore bills from here.)

I could never use it as my primary banking app unless I was dirt poor and could not afford 5 CHF for a banking package. It really makes me appreciate PostFinance.

What are your experiences?
Do you have workarounds for my gripes?

Just installed neon and I see that there are eBills and code scanner, qr and line.

1 Like

I have about 30 financial/banking/brokerage apps on my phone. And Zak must be one of the top 2 or 3 that feel clunkiest.

ā€¦and when I have to enter the (27-digit) reference number from the payment slip, I canā€™t just copy & paste it. No, itā€™ll throw up an error about the number format, unless I bloody manually delete the spaces between the number blocks. Which it canā€™t even show all in width on my phoneā€˜s screen. So I thereā€™s a little bit sof crolling involved. Infuriating.

For me, scanning the payment slip isnā€™t always an option, since I often only receive it in a digital format (as in the Swisscard app).

All the leading zeroes in the reference number can be omitted. Not that it fixes your problem, but it makes it at least more bearableā€¦

I donā€˜t use ZAK but I can recommend Neon.

I suppose the consensus is that ZAK is very limited, on purpose.