Advice on portfolio for beginners

Hi everybody,

I’m thankful for asking advice, as a beginner Swiss investor, to such a fantastic community of experts, which I have regularly followed for a while.

As I am a novice, I’d like to ask your feedback on my portfolio ideas.
I believe this discussion may help other people who are beginners in DIY investing. I found indeed related threads, but not very recent ones.

First, as I am a complete beginner, I decided to split my investment budget (currently around 20k chf/year, may increase over time) into two parts, 50% to be allocated to a roboadvisor (True wealth, the cheapest I found), 50% for DIY investing (with De Giro). Not ideal from a fee standpoint, I know, but it helps me to get started faster and not procrastinate too much :slight_smile:

As for the DIY part, I’d like to keep my portfolio as simple and diversified as possible (ideally, a buy and hold strategy). As I am relatively young (around 30yo) and without specific goals at the moment (e.g., buying a house, car, etc), I’d like to simply focus on long-term growth: only keeping a fixed amount of my money in a “sleeping” savings account, and try to make the rest grow as much as possible in the long-term, regardless of temporary losses.

I thought about two possible asset allocations, to be realized via low-fee ETFs:

Portfolio A: 80% world stocks, 20% Swiss stocks.

A pitfall is that it relies entirely on stocks. Usually I would add a percentage of bonds, but to my current understanding (please correct me if wrong!), it is not convenient to invest in Swiss bonds for a Swiss investor, due to their negative yield.

An alternative:

Portfolio B: 70% world stocks, 20% Swiss stocks, 10% gold.

If I understand well, gold seems roughly uncorrelated to stocks, so it might be a good addition to the portfolio to decrease its volatility.

My questions are: