Will crypto currencies replace fiat currencies?

Hi guys,

I’m actually doing a bachelor in banking & finance. I have a project to do and wanted to ask you for your personal opinion on the possibility of replacing fiat currencies with crypto.

So here I am, what are your thoughts coming up ?

I have few questions that could be interesting :

• How informed are you about cryptos and the blockchain ?
  • How do you feel about the security of it ?
  • How do you feel about the decentralised money ?
  • Do you have any experience with cryptos in real life (buying something with it for instance) ?
  • What are your fears ?

Also, if you know a source of information, or think about something that could be interesting in that topic, do not hesitate to write it.

Thank you everyone for your help and for this interesting discussion we will have :slight_smile:

1 Like

Why oppose fiat and crypto? Can’t there be central bank controlled cryptocurrencies?

Maybe some food for thoughts: if uncontrolled cryptocurrencies start having major uses, which role do you see if any for government and central banking for the economy?

What would the world have looked like in the past 50 years with no economic intervention. Better? Worse? Same?

As I’m not a libertarian and I believe that we would have been worse off without intervention (or if the world had stayed on the gold standard), that would be my main fear.

Given those concerns, it seems unlikely any major economy would allow a massive adoption.

1 Like

I’m probably not the right person to ask but my answers in italics, below:

4 Likes

A smart man (who might look like a cat) once wrote about this very topic in this forum: here.

He thinks no, but expects government-issued cryptocurrency to appear in the (near?) future. One reason might be the easy enforceability of a broad negative interest rate policy.

2 Likes