What would you do if you were me?

28-year-old boy, in the world of work and resident in Switzerland (permit B) for 2 years, with a current income after expenses and taxes of around 3,000-2,500 CHF, without current car leases (I’m thinking about it, I tore up the contract after reading “poor father, rich father”), open accounts on IB, DEGIRO, Crypto.com. What would you do with these inputs?
I am studying economics books and courses slowly due to the high workload, but I would not like to waste too much time and start investing, perhaps refining more when I have everything clearer. I was aimed at mainly equity ETFs (given my young age) and making up 5% of my portfolio with cryptocurrencies.
What would you do in my place?

Most people in this forum (and that includes me) will say: “IB account, invest monthly in VT until you have a very clear idea that persists ove 6 months of something better. Or invest 95% in VT and 5% in BTC”

11 Likes

Thanks for your reply. Is a single ETF differentiated enough? I read that below 100k USD DEGIRO is preferable, is this true? Is BTC the only one to take into consideration? Starting with an initial investment of 5.000 chf and then a monthly investment of 800-1000 chf, would it be a good accumulation plan to start?

This. And “pay yourself first” like the author of Rich Dad, Poor Dad talks about = make a standing order to invest 2000 CHF or whatever you are sure you can commit to whilst still enjoying life

I also suggest to model how much money you will have in the future and therefore when you are likely to reach FI. Depending on whether you are happy with the result you can decide whether to spend more or save more (search for “future value of regular investment”)

I would also say that increasing your salary & savings amount will have a big impact so don’t forget to stay motivated at work (it can quickly become demotivating to go to work if you are thinking about FIRE all the time…)