VWRL Ireland-domiciled ETF in CH broker - how to fill the tax form

Hello everyone,

This is my first time filing taxes in CH, and I have a specific question.

I hold VWRL in a Swiss broker. This is an Ireland-domiciled ETF traded on SIX. The dividends are paid in USD. I read that Ireland-domiciled ETF has a withholding tax of 15% by US government. However, I cannot find this 15% on my broker’s statements, and my guess the reason is it’s held at the source instead of at the broker.

My question is - When filing the tax form, do I put 15% withholding or 0% withholding in the DA-1/R-US 164 form? If 15%, how do I prove it to the tax office?

Thank you for your help!

Not correct.

Your ETF is domiciled in Ireland and you‘re in Switzerland. The U.S. has no business in charging withholding tax on that ETF‘s distributions (…just because they may be paid out in USD. If that was true, the ETF would choose to do it in EUR or GBP instead).

You don‘t and you don’t enter it into either DA-1 or R-US.
You‘re not going to set off or „get back“ any tax in Switzerland.

Irish ETFs (when bought through a Swiss broker and held in a clearing system for you as a Swiss-resident investor) are subject to a withholding tax of 0% on their distributions.

And R-US is for the refund of a(n additional) Swiss withholding on distributions from U.S. securities. Which your ETF isn‘t - it’s Irish.

2 Likes

As far as I know this withholding tax is paid by the ETF (not by you) to the US, and it is not recoverable.

Yep, one disadvantage of IR- vs. US-domiciled ETFs.

Still not quite correct.

U.S. withholding tax is only withheld on distributions from U.S. stocks only to that Irish ETF.

Does that ETF hold British and other stocks? Yes!
Does the ETF pay U.S. withholding tax on their distributions? Flippin‘ no!

The ETF hold stocks from many countries - and the U.S. is just one of them (albeit the largest one by far).

2 Likes