Vaud Tax Authorities - alimony deduction

Interested in some thoughts/ advice please guys with anyone who’s dealt with Vaud tax authorities. Summary situation is this:
. Lived Geneva 2010 to 2019, C permit, claiming alimony reduction for legally agreed support for wife/ children in UK family court

• All fine with Geneva tax authorities - i used to list deductions in a spreadsheet and put the amount in the tax return and always had no problems
  • Moved to Vaud Feb 2019 so 2019 year in Vaud. Spring 2020 I put in deductions as usual on Vaudtax (Nyon office), they asked me to send in divorce settlement translated which I did and the deductions rejigged to show a different view than what I had produced in Geneva. They then refused a large part of what I had been deducting in Geneva since 2010 and demanded a relatively large payment
  • I challenged this - on the basis that the divorce settlement was clear what I paid and these deductions had been deducted by commune/ federal/ canton for 9 tax years
  • Refused to change their opinion saying this is Vaud and has nothing to do with Geneva
  • Oct 2020 I sent appeal to Lausanne
  • Since then nothing has come back at all re 2019 situation
  • Submitted 2020 and 2021 returns submitted on time and again nothing to date - balance owing to me in 2021 due to some renovations

It’s almost 2 years since I challenged 2019 situation and I now have three years of tax returns not completed.

I’m wavering between assuming its a case of inefficiency and so will wind its way eventually vs going in there and politely asking that something is done to move this along.

Does anyone have any view/ experience of dealing with the Vaud tax authorities? Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Good morning …

Give them a call and ask for an appointment…

First, Geneva and Vaud could tax you differently. You can’t assume that a deduction in one canton would be accepted in another one.