Tax deductions for full-remote workers

Hello everyone,

Last year, I worked as a full remote employee from my home in Zurich for a Swiss company located in another canton. I was wondering if I could deduct part of the rent, internet costs, and the furniture I bought for my home office.

Did anyone experience a similar situation? If so, in your tax declaration, which deductions are you proposing regarding work-related expenses?

Privates Arbeitszimmer bzw. Home-Office ist nur abzugsfähig, sofern dies jährlich vom Arbeitgeber bestätigt wird und beim Arbeitgeber kein Arbeitsplatz zur Verfügung steht. Weiter muss zu Hause ein vollständig eingerichtetes Arbeitszimmer zur Verfügung stehen.

See this pdf for the calculation:

(source of this pdf: schmitt-treuhand.ch)

Thanks for this document, @markus654!

Do you confirm that the room used for the home office must be only used for work (i.e, we can’t deduct the room if we also sleep there)?

It has to be a separate room, that’s more or less only used as office, as far as I know.

Hello, could someone confirm which amount can be deducted for home office?

I live in 2.5 apartment. According to the ZH tax Instruction from the Finance Directorate regarding the determination of the imputed rental value in the event of actual underuse | Canton of Zurich (zh.ch) I can deduct 1/3 of rent cost. (because it’s [rent cost] * (1 + 1)/(2 +1), according to the formula).

It’s not clear to me what is the [rent const], just rent or rent + utility bills (in German “nebenkosten”).