SPGM as an alternative to VT?

Hi all,

I’ve been investing in VT for many years now (thanks MP!!) and after having reached $600k invested in it I am considering investing into a new Total world Stock ETF. My only rationale for doing so is to diversify any very minimal yet potentially annoying situation when Vanguard goes bankrupt and it might take some years to get back my portfolio. Therefore I came across SPGM (TER: 0.09%) which is very similar to VT in terms of investment approach and would provide the desired asset manager diversification.

What do you think? Any thoughts? Thanks a lot everyone!

2 Likes

Seems reasonable for sure.

Just that the fund seems to use optimized sampling, instead of full replication. But should not be that much of an impact.

AUM with almost a billion is sufficient enough, but could result in a bit higher spreads than VT. Not meaningful though.

Performance is almost 1:1 that of VT. Reputable provider. US domiciled, so same tax treatment. Investible market is basically the same as well. So whole world + EM.

Yea I see nothing wrong to do what you want.

3 Likes

I can’t really see a reason why not … but I also can’t really see a reason why?

If Vanguard was going backrupt, like suddenly, leaving you no time to move out of VT … Vanguard managing about US$ 8 trillion (2022)* would IMO mean that the US government, the Fed, etc, would move in so swiftly you wouldn’t even notice that Vanguard was on the edge of going bankrupt.
This is even before all the contracts saying that you own the assets that Vanguard manages for you.

Totally out of my depth here, but I would even wager that if Vanguard were in that situation, and the market knows/learns, and the entities mentioned above didn’t intervene, virtually all other ETF providers (well, let’s be generous: most other financial institutions), including all Spider funds** would tank essentially just like VT.

Maybe there’s better doomday experts on this forum that can weigh in.***