Software development, how is the job market nowadays?

Hi everybody,

I am sharing this story because there seem to be a lot of software engineers on this forum.

Long story made short, 39 yo male, I have been working in the software industry for almost 20 years as a developer (mostly in the Java world). I am losing my job because my employer has been acquired by a larger group that requires everyone to work from the main headquarters in Basel (3 hours from where I live). Despite a positive experience during the Covid crisis, employees are only allowed a single day a week of home office, and as ridiculous as it may sound, there will be no exception.

So, I have been checking jobup and jobscout24 for open positions. It’s pretty clear that my area (“la Riviera” between Sion VS and Lausanne VD) isn’t the best when it comes to finding IT jobs but, from my past experience, there has always been a couple of local opportunities.

I am a bit disappointed to realize that I have a hard time finding a good match for my skills, most job offers I come across require years of experience with specific frameworks, software stacks, cloud platforms, sometimes accompanied with extra requirement, such as knowledge of niche software and experience in industries outside the IT world.
Nobody seems to consider that, as an engineer, you can adapt and train yourself on the job. I have done so hundreds of time in my career… I have switched between frameworks and languages almost on a per-project basis without any paid training, I have yet to met a single software engineer that hasn’t done the same over the past 10 (3?) years. So why is everyone writing crazy job requirements that so few people could reasonably meet? We keep hearing that CH lacks IT engineers, don’t we?

I still remember mid 2000s when companies were just looking for standard developers, not unicorns with 5 years of experience in technologies that are barely older than that? Has the market changed that much?

3 Likes