Setting my IB portfolio - Advice

Dear MP community,

I’m about to set my long-term portfolio on Interactive Brokers and would love to get some advice. Please consider I’m a beginner in this topic.

Note that I’m 40yo, unmarried with no kids, living in CH (and yes, feel I discovered MP way too late…) :slight_smile:

My plan is the following:

• Available starting sum to invest: 20k CHF (*could add +20k CHF in a 2nd time when I feel a bit more comfortable)
  • Planned monthly deposit to IB to invest: 500 CHF
  • Allocation: 80% World/20% CH

2 questions on my mind:

• World: I was about to buy 191 shares of VT ETF, but suddenly became hesitant when looking at current price, which is at its historical peak (105 CHF roughly vs. 60 CHF 10 years ago). Consequently, I’m wondering if I should postpone the investment of my 20K CHF lump sum until it goes down and rather stick to my monthly deposit (aka as dollar-cost averaging strategy from what I could read)

• CH: Any recommendation on which one to choose? I saw different recommendations (USB, CHPI) and I’m a bit lost.

For those wondering:

• My 2nd pillar is maxed out and optimized for fiscality with an annual buy-back
  • My 3rd pillars are just being moved this month to VIAC Global Fund Strategy 100 (and yes, one of them was a terrible life-insurance on actions, the one everyone should avoid…or how to loose 15K CHF net)

Thanks in advance to the MP community!

1 Like

Why not just VT? If you’re doing pillar 2 buybacks, you’re probably already extremely CH biased.

Also do what you’re comfortable with, but given the sum involved a lump sum seems like a good choice, hopefully you’ll find ways to increase your income/savings which will have way more impact, those 20k will represent very little long term.

6 Likes