Russian ETF: Yuh has just deleted it and the history from my account: But where are they? Who do they belong to?

I have a general question:

At the beginning of the conflict in Ukraine, I’ve had Russian Blue Chips ETFs in my Yuh account. However, as is well known (but perhaps not very well understood… as in my case!), many ETFs exposed to Russian stocks have been ‘eliminated’ (forgive my perhaps wrong expression, I’m not a financial expert, that’s why I’m asking this question here!)

Yuh has completely deleted these ETFs from my account, there’s even nothing left to say that I am/was holding them. I haven’t received a single CHF in return. I have asked Yuh several times (and never got an answer!!!) how this will be handled in the future or how this is to be understood: I mean, I am aware that it is no longer possible for western people/institutions (at the moment…) to trade Russian stocks etc., but that doesn’t mean that they are gone. And as far as I know, the Russian government hasn’t ‘stolen’ / acquired for free these stocks that belong to foreign people/ETFs. These shares are still around somewhere, so if the situation changes again one day, won’t I be entitled to have access to my old ETF or the underlying shares? I ask this question because I haven’t been able to find an explanation anywhere. As I said, these shares are out there and they belong to someone, as far as I know!

It would be nice if someone who knows more about this could give me some information on that. I really have the impression that I’m being cheated somehow (by Yuh, the ETF issuer or someone else), as it’s my understanding that these stocks are still somewhere and nobody from the Russian side has officially declared this to be stolen (AND PLEASE, DO NOT START A POLITICAL DISCUSSION, THAT’S NOT THE QUESTION HERE!).

1 Like