Pillar 3a strategy/provider for possible early withdrawal (leaving CH)

Hi all,
I am an EU foreigner with already a 3a cash account which needs to be “rotated”.
I would like to open a new account with a provider such finpension or VIAC and invest in equities.
Since I do not know how long I will stay in Switzerland, I cannot decide what allocation strategy to employ.
Is it possible to keep the 3a pillar after moving ? If so, I could go for a high stock mix and probably reallocate the cash I have so far. In this case, finpension makes sense the most.
Otherwise, VIAC and a low equities share strategy makes sense the most.
Financially speaking I am a newbie and I welcome your suggestions.

1 Like

Yes. You are not obligated to cash out pillar 3a savings when you leave Switzerland. If you live outside of Switzerland, you have the right to cash them out, but you are not obligated to. So you can leave them be, and cash them out at a favorable time.

If you expect to cash out your pillar 3a savings withing 1-5 years, I would suggest keeping them in cash. The current best offer is True Wealth (1% interest per annum for cash).

If you expect to keep your money in the pillar 3a for 5-10 years, then you could consider investing. True Wealth and Finpension are the current best offers. Viac and Frankly are good too. If you want a mixed cash/investment portfolio, I would go with True Wealth, since you earn relatively high interest on cash, and the costs for investing are low.

Finpension is good if you want a pure stock portfolio. If you want control over how your money is invested, then I can vouch for Viac in that regard.

A retirement fund is also an option. BLKB iQ Fund - Responsible Equity Switzerland B is a 100% stock fund which has a 0.35% TER and no front- or back-end loads. That is comparable to the cost of Finpension. You can compare pillar 3a retirement funds here:

1 Like