My story: the good, the bad, the ugly

After completing my studies, I migrated to Switzerland. Today, at 30yo, I am a proud holder of a C Permit. I can confidently say that Switzerland has been an incredible home to me so far. Alongside my passion for traveling, I have developed a vibrant lifestyle here, centered around my friends, sports, and hobbies like photography and motorcycling. I have been dedicated to increasing my income while trying to keep my expenses as low as possible. Last year, my income exceeded CHF 200k, and I plan to make more this year with my new job that I am starting soon.

On the expense side, I find myself falling prey to lifestyle inflation, indulging in little pleasures, gifts for myself and loved ones, travel, and dining out. I understand that this spending habit hampers my financial objectives, but I’m not sure how to break free from it.

Regarding investments, my track record has not been impressive. Although I am an investment advisor by profession, I have struggled to manage my personal finances effectively. My biggest failure was an ultra-leveraged real estate project that left me with a debt of more than CHF 1.2M, putting everything at risk. I am off the hook now on this project. My emotional tendencies also caused me to lose consistently over the past three years in the stock market. As you can realize, risk was my motto in terms of investments. Now it is the opposite… At present, I own a small, paid-off apartment that I rent on Airbnb in France, and I am entirely uninvested (with about 400K in savings). This also sets me back in my financial goals.

I am open to feedback on how to address my spending habits and investment approach.

5 Likes

Hi,
Good achievements at 30 yo!
What is your portfolio target allocations ?
Any wealth objective to achieve ?
You could also define an investment plan once a year and follow it.