Mustachians Business Owners

Hello dear mustachians!

Out of curiosity is someone of you business owner?

If yes, did you started it? Did you bought it? Or was it already in your family?

Like buy real estate buy a business is a form of investment and I wander if someone of you has experience with it and want to share his story.

Another interesting point would be to know if you also work on it, you just manage it or you let manage it to someone else

2 Likes

I am a business owner. Started the company and I also work in it (IT sector)

Question is: what are you interested in? Do you want to buy a business? Are you interested in the cash-flow, do you want to know how to create a company?

Following. I am interested in starting a business within the MedTech world.

First thought: MedTech might require a good amount of capital. If you start an IT company, the capex costs are usually quite low.

I have currently quit my job and I am traveling the world for 6 months at age 33 with my girlfriend. I am interested in starting or acquiring a business (with money from a bank) as a possible next step once I am back instead go back to a corporation. My background is electronic engineer.

What is holding me back from starting a business is the feeling of “not having a right idea”. Start a successful business from scratch require a good idea beside dedication and luck to survive the startup phase. What inspired your business?
I think anyway IT is probably one of the best sector to start as software as lower cost you need to invest. If I want to produce cars for instance: I need to invest initially 20-30 million, for IT I guess we are on the order of 10-50k to start.

The idea of acquiring a business appel me more as it may require less effort.
-Clients already know and relay on your company
-The cashflow is already existing.
-if the business is good enough you can buy it and make it manage by someone else and be basically just the owner.