Mortgage structure

Dear fellow FIRE seekers,

We’re about to acquire a house and are now approached by the bank to choose our loan structure.

See attached interests.

Basically one can structure as many tranches of the loan as one wishes, between fixed and variable (SARON) interest rates.
The interest rates respectively varies depending of the duration of the loan.

Does anyone has any recommandations on the most suitable loan structure?

Many thanks,

Paul

The rates are overpriced, have you discussed this point before agreeing on the structure ? I would check with another bank to be honest.

2 Likes

Really depends on your personal situation and your preferences.

But those rates are rather bad, especially the Saron. I work as a private client advisor and I can offer 2.80-2.90% for 5-10 years (as of today) and 0.60-0.75% margin for Saron (no duration).

P.s. This isn’t meant to be marketing for myself. Just to give you alternative rates that you should be able to get.

3 Likes

For the structure itself know that they will push you to have as many tranches with different durations as possible so that you are stuck with them for the long run without being able to escape. When the first renewal comes you will basically have to agree with their price since you won’t be able to negotiate anything.

3 Likes

@Pgl32
Besides that, regarding structure of the mortgage: As @HoiZame already pointed out, don’t go for different fixed-rate mortgages. It gives you literally zero room for negotiation once one mortgage runs out, because you are locked in till the last one runs out. You’ll have to accept any rate that they will offer you in the future.

My personal recommendation: If you want to play the safe card and have an exact budget, go for a single 10 year mortgage. Just keep in mind that long-term you’ll end up paying more interest than with Saron which has no fixed interest rate.