Lost 30 Chf by converting CHF to USD and buying VT

I made my first transaction of rougly 5000 chf to my newly opened ikbr account. No fees as expected.

After converting the CHF to USD, a decrease in my portfolio value caught my eye: I lost 1.81 USD(commissions) and 9.81 USD for “transaction”, according to the performance review. Is the latter normal or did I do something wrong?

After the conversion of the cash I went on to buy VT stocks for roughly 5300 USD. After the completion of the trade, my portfolio value lost another 17.87 Chf, which I cannot locate on the performance review pdf.

Do you think these sums are normal or did I do something wrong? (As you may have guessed, I’m new to IKBR)

It sounds strange, but you should be able to find the reason in some reports.
Converting currency should be 2 CHF.

Regarding commissions:
Did you activate tiered pricing already?

3 Likes

Thanks for response!

No, “tiered pricing” wasn’t activated at the time of the trades. Changed the setting as of now.

Any ideas which report I should look into? Only took a glance over the activity report, on which I found the 9.81 transaction costs and the trade confirmation report, which concluded that I paid 1 USD in commissions…

this is a screenshot of the Forex MTM summary

I’d expect (with tiered) that you would pay about 0,30 USD for a 5000 USD purchase of VT, normally.

Reports->other reports->transactions cost analysis

2 Likes

Can you make sense of these numbers? There’s no mention of the 9.75 transaction cost listed in the summary screenshot above…

Seems indeed that report is a bit too much detail… maybe your monthly activity report is better?

1 Like

this one right here?

You haven’t paid any transaction cost other than the commission. You can find the commission/fee in the Trades section of the Activity report.
The transaction P/L that you’re looking at is an accounting thing that you shouldn’t care about.