Looking for mustachian Jobs in CH

Dear all,
I am looking browsing for some mustachian job in CH, preferrably Zurich area.

I have a BSc in Physics, and Engineering MSc & PhD all from ETHZ, and I started my first job last summer in some average (non-big-4) consultant company in ZH, earning me a bit less than 100k/y. It’s an ok-ish job for me, but not good enough for keeping me from looking around.

I am not a Software-guy like most of you here, but not at all IT-phobic. I could dive into anything, given a textbook or any other form of (self-) education.

Salary is not the only important thing of course, but due to my mustachian ideals more important than for average employees.

Do you have any ideas, suggestions, known positions, etc?

Do you know Math-Jobs (and also Tesla-Jobs :slight_smile: ), link here ?

1 Like

What do you mean “mustachian”?

I am not a Software-guy like most of you here

Software pays top dollar currently. But don’t worry, many of the best programmers are self taught or only have tangentally related formal degrees (physics, math, econ…), your physics phd will be viewed favorably by employers as long as you can actually code

preferrably Zurich area

The big bucks are all in the US, and don’t underestimate the difficulty of getting there, odds of winning H1B lottery were 1:3 last year, so you wanna make sure you’re in the draw every year

Salary is not the only important thing of course

Blasphemy

4 Likes

I am/was in the same spot, ended getting a job related to my bachelors degree(product management, not software, but did consider learning to code and go that route)

You keep mentioning going to the US for a job. There are ton of things keeping me from doing that, but thats another topic.

So let’s also assume I want to go into software to earn the big bucks in the US. I have a business degree and no coding experience. How does my timeline look like?

1. learning to code (what do I master, java, javascript etc.?)

2. getting into the US