Looking for advice: 2nd and 3rd Pillar

Hello everyone,

I have 29 years and just got my B permit, currently living on FR canton.
Salary is 3990 CHF/month - NET.

I have some questions about the 2nd and 3rd pillar that I hope you can help me.

For the 2nd Pillar I can choose to contribute:

• 3.5%
  • 8.5%
  • 11.5%

On top of my employer contributions, fixed at 10.5%.
My employer told me that there are tax advantages to contribute to my 2nd pillar like we have with the 3rd Pillar.
My questions are:

• What is the limit for the tax advantages?
  • Is it worth contributing the maximum I can on my 2nd Pillar?

For the 3rd Pillar, as I’m taxed at source and don’t fill my taxes, can I benefit from the tax advantages?
Would it be worth it in my situation?

I will do some research on my own, but as I’m new to this any feedback/opinion is welcome.

Thank you!

There’s no limit for the tax advantages. If you contribute more to your 2nd pillar, you have a lower income that will be taxed.

You need to find out yourself, if youthink you can generate a higher return with your investments than the return of your pension fund and the tax savings (additional contribution × marginal tax rate), then you should not contribute the maximum. I think it should be easy for you to “beat” your pension fund with investments as you are probably in a low tax bracket with your salary, so not a lot of tax savings.

4 Likes

Personal opinion, to address the question in the thread title:

:point_right:t2: Before you take any look into non-mandatory contributions to 2nd pillar, max out your 3a third pillar.