Jahresarbeitszeit

I’ve been looking for a new job recently and have gotten a new preliminary offer recently. The boss wants me to work under the “Jahresarbeitszeit”-Modell since some of our work is seasonal (there is work year round, but winter months f.e. are far busier).

What are your experiences with that? From what I’ve read this seems to be a better deal for the employer than the employee but maybe I’m missing something. Any employers who employ people under Jahresarbeitszeit please contribute too!

If you need more information I’m happy to provide it! I just didn’t want to overwhelm with lots of text.

EDIT: Moved the discussion from “Other” to “Coffee”

1 Like

it probably boils down to: Are you ok working possibly some week-end in winter and have more holiday in summer?

The downside is you are not payed extra for overtime or maybe even week-end works…

3 Likes

Thanks so much for the answer!

I’ve been working some weekends for a couple of years now, so this is not bothering me too much.

What I’m worried about is having no say in when the overtime is, or worse, when the compensatory free days are. The fragmented schedule I’ve been living under for the past years is a bane of my existence :slight_smile: I’d rather work 5 days and have 2 days off than work 3, 1 off, and another 2.

I’m mainly asking this question to see what other peoples experiences are and to see what I should ask for in the next interview regarding this type of schedule.

I thought about:

• minimum hours and maximum hours? is there a maximum of overtime yearly?
  • how much say I have in the matter?
  • how far in advance is the schedule set?

Any other ideas?