Is now a good moment to invest in ETFs?

Hi all!

I am new to investing. I created an IBKR account and transferred there the money I received as an option cash-out from a US company. I would like to start investing and to do it sustainably. So I am thinking of buying ESG or SRI ETFs with the goal of long-term saving (however, there is a chance that I will need the money in two years or so). I am following the S&P500 trend and I can see that it has declined significantly. But I’ve heard some people saying that the economy hasn’t yet reached the bottom of the dip by far and a serious crisis is ahead. Is now a good moment to invest in ETFs in a lump sum or should I go for dollar cost averaging and invest small amounts every month? Or better wait longer and just keep the money in IBKR as a deposit until S&P500 falls even deeper? What strategy would you guys recommend for my case?

Thanks in advance!

2 Likes

If you need the money in 2 years (“or so”), then I’d avoid investing it in the market. There is no guarantee that the market will be up in 2 years.
Only invest in the market if you can leave the money compounding over at least 10 years.

7 Likes

Unfortunately, nobody can predict the future. However, personally (this is not an advice) I think that we are not at the bottom yet. If you look at the prices we are roughly at the situation before the big stimulation by the central banks as a reaction of Covid.

Therefore, I will just keep buying parts of VT every month and do some other buys where I think that companies make sense in my satellite portfolio.

Another important point is time in the market, as you mentioned that you maybe need the cash within 2 years that’s relatively short timeframe. If you go in the market now with lump sum there is a possibility that you will have less in 2 years.

5 Likes

welcome

please search the forum, there’s bit some debate on ESG/SRI investing

the stock market is not the same thing as the economy