Is it worth to buy pre-working 1st pillar years?

Hi Mustachians,
I’ve recently landed my first job after studying. Before that, I have been paying minimal mandatory 1st pillar cotisation since 2019 as a student.

Since it is possible to “re-buy” up to the last 5 years of cotisation, is it financially worth it to re-buy my 2018 year or should I let it slip? (I was below the limit for mandatory cotisation at that moment)

Thanks in advance for your input !

In order to answer this question : what was your age in 2018?

And which mandatory limit are you speaking about ? I only know an age limit : you have to contribute from the year of your 21th birthday.

Sorry, I’m maybe missing some terminology.
I was 20 in 2018, just below the age limit. (I started to pay in 2019)

By “mandatory limit”, I was referring to “age limit”

If I understand your question correctly:

I don‘t think so. It‘s important that you contribute at least the minimal amount starting in the calendar year after your 20thiest birthday (ab 1. Januar nach dem 20. Geburtstag).

There is no financial advantage of buying into the earlier years.

People who contributed at younger ages might use those years to fill gap years should they ever arise later. But if you don‘t have gaps, there is no advantage. Just ensure you don‘t have gaps from the calendar year after your 20thies birthday until you retire.

I recommend ordering an AHV-Kontoauszug every 4 years or so to double-check that there are no gaps. This should be free. Check which the SVA of your canton.

You did understand and answer my question perfectly, thank you!

Interesting !