Investing in a start-up abroad?

Hi all,

A friend of mine is in the process of creating a start-up in France (as a SAS, Société par actions simplifiée). I’d like to invest in it as I think the idea is good. Now, before doing that, and because I’m a Swiss resident for tax purpose, I’m trying to do my homework. I feel like at some point I’ll contact a tax attorney just to be sure, but I thought I could ask some questions here already to get some insights :slight_smile:
#1 - As an average joe (ie not qualified investor), am I allowed to do that (invest in a foreign company) ?
#2 - Concerning taxes, I suppose the “only” thing I’ll have to do is to declare my shares in my wealth, is this correct ? How is the value of these shares computed ? Is this something that would require an accountant ?

Thanks a lot !

You sure you got the country right? Start-up in France? Did you mean a subsidized government project?

On a more serious note: I’m very far from being an expert, but why wouldn’t you be able to invest there? There’s practically free movement of capital and trade between CH and EU i think. And why not just ask the cantonal tax authorities regarding taxation?

I’m pretty sure you can do that.

Yes.

When you own a part of a company, the tax authorities have a formula for how to compute the value of the company for tax purposes. I’ve looked into it a while back and the formula was a weighted sum of capital you invested and discounted cash flow. (It wasn’t rocket science, you can likely just compute the result yourself.)

In case you would receive dividends from the company, these would be declared as income.

1 Like

Seriously ?

To get back to the topic,
yes you can invest into the company.
The company will have an accountant which will set the value of the shares every year (mainly own capital of the company divided by the number of shares). Furthermore dividends will be taxed as well.