International car rental - which company do you use?

I’m looking at car rental for a two week long stay in another european country. There’s about a millions different rental companies and about five million different “intermediaries” (like billiger-mietwagen.de, ferienmietwagen.ch, sunnycars.ch,…).

I usually go with ferienmietwagen.ch since I have a TCS Mastercard and I like to be sure that I’m completely “safe” in all circumstances without any hidden costs. That’s why I usually don’t mind paying a bit more. But for this trip their offers are much higher than competitors.

Some people I know use the same companies you mentioned.
I personally always use Sixt since I have platinum membership there.

I usually start at rentalcars.com and then double check with the actual providers if they come at a lower cost.
I do have a rental car insurance cover in my Axa policy, so I don’t pay for theirs any more.

1 Like

Europcar.

Sometimes we book in Germany, sometimes in Switzerland. If you have an UBS credit cart you get a discount when booking at Europcar in Germany.

Haven’t used them since before Covid but broker Economy car rentals.

Seem to find best offer from Europcar etc. They have a guarantee of no extras at the desk. A hire company charged us once and we got the money back from Economy

I need to rent a car in the US ATM and 2 thirds of the cost come from the full insurance from the provider.
I haven’t got a car insurance in Switzerland like @dbu so the extension is not an option but if anyone else got tips, i will be interested.

I have had good experiences with Rentalcars.com and autoeurope.eu

1 Like

For cars in Spain www.doyouspain.com usually has rates below all other options mentioned here!

2 Likes

I also had several good deals through Autoeuropa platform… usually better than the providers’ website directly. Never had a problem after. The website is clean ad easy to use.

3 Likes