Interactive Brokers has changed fixed plan fees!

Hi all,

This blog, and most of blogs, when talking about Interactive brokers fees system they always explain that there is : fixed and tiered. By doing some math and showing some examples, they show that tiered system is usually cheaper and thus recommend it.

Since I am new to this, I was trying to compare those examples to the fees I get myself and I saw that they do not match, in fact by looking at https://www.interactivebrokers.co.uk/en/index.php?f=1590 you can see that fixed fees are Half! of what all blog posts (even updated ones) say. They lowered from 0.1% to 0.05%.

Thus, right now, for most ETFs (in europe) using fixed fees tends to be cheaper. Unless you do very small buys around 3-5k.

Any thoughts about that? Am I missing something? Or blog posts should be updated yet again?

Kind regards,
Richard

1 Like

Hello and welcome.

As far as I can see, for Europe from these pages :
Fixed = EUR 3.00 for trades up to EUR 6,000, 0.05% of trade value for trades over EUR 6,000 = more than 0.05 the lower your order below 6k EUR (https://www.interactivebrokers.co.uk/en/index.php?f=39753&p=stocks1)
Tiered = 0.050% at worst, 0.015% at best, with a minimum of 1.25 EUR (https://www.interactivebrokers.co.uk/en/index.php?f=39753&p=stocks2)

How did you get to the conclusion that fixed is cheaper than tiered ?

Edit : in addition, tiered fees are caped to 29EUR, which would be a 60K order size, and fixed is not capped so you’ll keep paying more the bigger your transaction.

3 Likes

Because that is the base fee from interactive brokers. Which is the same than fixed 0.05%.

However, with tiered there is many more fees that have to be applied to the trade. But this is a bit harder to show, since every exchange has a different fee. However I can make an example for you (which you can verify since I assume you have tiered fees).

Lets say I want to buy VWRL. Lets say I buy 10k of it at AEB exchange.