IB disastrous IT service these last days

Hi,

I opened an account with IB following some recommendations (from this forum and other friends) but I have to say I’m very disappointed.

Today is the second day in a row that when I connect to the platform I don’t have access to the trading options. That means if I want to put or cancel an order I cannot…

Then after a while a pop-up appears saying “Login failed - You have been locked out due to an excessive number of failed login attempts”.

I’m an IT developer myself and I can guess the issue is that upon connecting to the platform they try to open a web socket with the trading system and since it’s so overloaded it ends up locking the account (without the final user doing anything)

Yesterday I spent on the phone 30 mins to get somebody to “fix” this. Today my account is locked again and it’s taking more than 1 hour to get somebody to do anything.

I know shit happens but this really looks very amateurish and I get to wonder whether my money is safe with them.

Do you guys have also issues like this as well?

Kind regards,

Javier

2 Likes

I’m using it almost every weekday. Never had a single problem other than maybe a maintenance window.

I only know that e.g. DKB in Germany does not allow you to buy at all currently (at least this morning) due to ‘technical difficulties’, so it does not seem to be limited to IB.
Probably too many people selling/buying currently due to the whole Coronavirus situation.

I have lots of problems like you described with the platforms. Specially the Portal :frowning:
I’ve been asking around (forum, friends, etc) and specially the US clients didn’t have any problem and lots of europeans neither.

I’m also in IT… I tried Mac, Windows, Chrome, Firefox, At work, at home… always the same.
I’m starting to thing that “some” accounts we are routed to some server/system that is not performance at all or some strange thing.