I reached my initial FIRE number today

Hey guys. When I did my master degree in Gemany I earned about 1500€ per month and I had a stressful, but great life. I decided to save enough so I have this amount available every month without having to sell my time.

I calculated with a 3.5% withdrawal rate and this means I needed to save 515’000€. I started seriously saving and investing after I graduated and moved to Switzerland in March 2016. Today with the dividend distribution of VWRL and the ETF up 0.38% I hit my initial target NW for the first time. :partying_face:

I don’t really plan to retire soon, but its great to know I could quit any time and live a decent life if I move back to Germany. My plan is to save more to have a little bit more money available per month and maybe lower my withdrawal rate a little bit. I also created a SaaS and a affiliate website. I’ll try to work on this websites so I can earn some money from home and reduce the sequence of returns risk. I’d also like to have more flexibility to move to other parts of the world without having to earn money at this places.

Sorry that I’m still calculating in €, but as much as I love Switzerland I don’t think I would stay here without having a swiss salary. With 1500€ per month and my girlfriend earning the same amount with a part time job we would have a pretty good life in Germany, while in Zurich we could barely pay rent and health insurance.

31 Likes

Congratulations!
Always great to see someone achieving their goal.
Thanks for sharing and good luck ahead. :slight_smile:

Congrats @Alvo! It’s always inspiring to hear success from like-minded people.
Now you’ve reached your FU money threshold, you can do what you want when you want it. :crazy_face:

Thank you guys! :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

meh, that’s no fu money. he can afford a little career break but still a wage slave. you can’t buy property or have kids or buffer for unexpected with so little money

2 Likes