How to buy Vanguard's S&P 500 traded in the USA with the new mifid II regulation?

Hi,

I am fairly new to investments. I was doing some research last year and I decided to open an account with Degiro and to buy Vanguard S&P 500 (US9229083632). To my surprise, that is not possible at the current time, due to the fact that Vanguard hasn’t released information about this ETF in German, French or Italian and that there’s a new European regulation requiring that funds release this sort of information (Mifid II). So, how can I buy Vanguard S&P 500 traded at the US at the present time ? If I open up an account with IB will I be able to do it ? I am pretty lost at the present time. Thank you

Will follow the conversation as I’m interested in the same topic.

Update: I have been reading lots of resources on the internet in the past 2 days. From what I understand, there is a new legislation called Priips and it is part of a larger law called MiFID II (read more here).

According to the discussion here, Vanguard is referring to its Irish funds and isn’t currently planning to update whatever they need to update or provide regarding its US-based funds. It all just seems very weird to me. Someone also claims that with IB you can still purchase the US-based funds. Can anyone here confirm it ?

This article talks about a British broker dropping American funds.

At swissquote everything looks as always. I have to accept all kinds of terms and conditions before they let me trade anything at NYSE.

I have no problems buying US ETFs on IB at the moment and didn’t get any messages regarding mifid from them

same here, just bought my 5 ETFs as always, no differences

The new regulation (“PRIIPS”) seems to be EEA-only, of which Switzerland is not a member.

I guess degiro just being too paranoid or they don’t know their own clients’ geography.