Hi, I'm Olivier

Hi everyone,

My name is Olivier, I’m 25 years old and work as a banker (that you all hate on this forum haha).

I actually love my work and it’s quite well paid. I’m trying to evolve by applying to new position. I hope it’ll be soon and that my salary will take a big increase as well.

Currently, I can not save any money. Indeed, I have some high expenses as I live alone in my flat. Also, I’m a student and need to pay the studies, even though my company pays a good part of it.

I always wanted to feel free and travel the world by discovering new cultures and countries. My goal is to travel for a long period, stopping and going whenever I want. I don’t want big hotels, I want to be with the aborigines.

Here is my actual budget :

Incomes :
Salaire 5 194,00 CHF
Katya 100,00 CHF
Total of CHF 5’294

Expenses :
Rent : 1580
Electricity : 50
Internet : 50
Mobile phone : 19
Serafe : 30
SwissCaution : 20
Parking : 40
Car taxes : 20
Car insurance : 90
3rd pilar : maximum 573
Health insurance : 155
Taxes : 600
Bachelor : 620
Credit : 490 (This is for an investment. The return of it will come from end of this year)
REKA (I have -33% thanks to my company, so I buy the maximum every year) : 60
Food : 400
Restaurants & Fun : 300
Health : 70
Total : 5194

As you can see, I can not save more than 100.- per month.

By the way, I bought the book of Mr MP :slight_smile:

What do you think ?

Update (thanks to all the answers)

After counting everything correctly, I learned that I save up to 30% per month from my salary and that CHF 100.- = 2%.

With this information, I’ll think twice before buying something for CHF 100.- :smiley:

2 Likes

I forgot to write my assets :

• Savings accounts : approx. 2000.-
  • Investments : approx. 17’000.-
  • Placed money (rate of 6%) : USD 9000.-

I’d probably start by building some emergency fund (assuming you picked a high deductible health insurance, it might already be kinda tight).