Help me find the fair price for this private company

Hi forum

I have a few shares of a private company (inherited). The shares are not liquid and spreads are high (>10% Bid/Ask, if there are offers). I could buy some more, or I could sell them. The problem is that I am I’m not very experienced in the valuation of stocks. So, I wanted second opinions about a fair price.

Company summary

The company was founded more than a century ago and has a balance sheet of about 2 billion CHF.

Their main business is in industry. They globally produce and sell optical components that are used in a wide range of applications in aerospace, health, cars, food, etc. Their competitors remain unable to copy their most high-tech products.

Some years ago, they reorganized their production facilities, which left them with an oversized lot of industrial real estate (central and near Lausanne). They decided to develop it, and somewhat unexpectedly it seems to go well. They rent it to a mix of other industry, public secondary education, and commerce. Development is still ongoing.

Financials

Since I want to get a better understanding of the right price for a share, the following numbers are per share. The numbers are calculated from the annual report.

Optical Components

If I understood correctly, growing or selling off the inventory can strongly affect the yearly results. Earnings are sometimes higher than EBIT. I think that is because they don’t include extraordinary income for EBIT. But I calculated earnings from ROE (return on equity), which seems to do and also matches consolidated earnings.

Year 2023 2022 2021 2020 2019
Sales 2’848.67 3’011.49 2’848.11 2’461.69 2’659.60
EBITDA 299.35 534.72 491.41 345.02 342.92
EBIT 105.58 320.40 277.34 149.66 148.68
Earnings 171.87 204.99 278.75 180.61 144.82
Equity 2’858.48 2’962.68 2’981.56 2’852.80 2’805.96
Equity ratio 75.51% 74.54% 78.02% 77.33% 77.22%

Real Estate