Hello, and maybe journal (time will tell)

Hi there! I’ve been thinking of saying hello for quite a time, but never had time for this. I’m not good at blogging so every time I start my mind immediately yells at me “don’t waste time on this” :smiley:

I’m Polish, at the time I was living there the country was still a great wasteland. Nonetheless I achieved FI at the age of 36. It wasn’t a true FI, but a freedom and safety not to live in fear anymore, something a typical graduate would achieve in 2-5 years in the western world. By the time I had my own apartment, savings which would allow me to live without income for another 20+ years. On top of that a monthly salary in IT could cover 4-5 months of comfortable mustachian living back then. So I quit with the intention to engage in IT contract every few years, but not to get back to full time job ever. IT was still my passion. I finally had time to play with whatever caught my interest instead of doing what my employer wanted me to do.

Soon I got a bit bored and curious about living in the Western world, therefore I decided to take the plunge, use my tech skills to pay for such “exploration” as using my wealth seemed a too big stretch. I didn’t look much at the salary but rather at the locations.

I eventually landed in Switzerland, engaging with some startup which paid me ~120k. I had a great time, 2 nice years have passed before the startup collapsed.