Geneva quasi resident status - Anyone doing it?

As frontaliers working in Geneva are probably aware, from this year it is not possible to claim back tax against 3a contributions or childcare if you have G permit and do impot a la source. It was in previous years.

From now on, if you wish to make deductions then you need to attain “quasi resident” status and fill in what seems to be a full tax return. Everything I read on this tells me that there are no guarantees that your tax bill would be lower and it would obviously be a load of work to submit a tax return as I used to when I was a resident.

My assumption is that this means there is now no point paying into a 3a.

I wonder if anyone has become quasi resident? And if so if they can shed any light on how to make the decision?

1 Like

The best option would be to use Getax to estimate your taxes if filing a tax return.

If you end up paying more → it stops here
If you end up paying less → does it worth the time filing the tax return and collecting the paper ?

Alternatively, you could use a tax advisor. It should cost max CHF 400 (including the tax simulation and the calculation of the 90% treshold)

The answer is not generic that someone can tell you yes or no, it depends on your salary and on your deductions.
As you know there are 2 taxes to pay ICC (cantonal and communal tax) and IFD (Federal tax).

As a Impot a la source you only pay ICC, therefore doing a quasi resident declaration adds the IFD.
Though now as a quasi resident you can deduct the 3pillar deduction which more or less could counter the IFD.
The difference could actually rely on the deductions. Your import a la source are calculated on some “supposed numbers” which Geneva canton provides each year.
https://www.ge.ch/document/26993/telecharger
You can see that they deduct 5738 of Health Insurance Premium, while myself I actually pay around 4000 per year therefor on the permit B I was having higher deductions than my real one.