Family car - mustachian style

Did anyone do any research of what a good mustachian style family car would be in Switzerland? So, having in mine the purchasing price, the operating costs (including service and gas, insurance, taxes…) and other aspects important for families and mustachians?

I would need to upgrade my car soon and any reasearch done by someone before would be helpful to me!

Thanks!

1 Like

I’d take a look at Dacia, the Sandero or Logan might suit your needs. The motorization is OK on the consumption and emissions sides (not a performer, though) and they seem to be reliable nowadays : https://www.osv.ltd.uk/are-dacia-unreliable/

If I had the budget, I’d go the extra mile and try to find an hybrid suiting my needs to make it more eco-friendly. (I haven’t checked the EV market recently so wouldn’t know how friendly to use and recharge full electric cars are nowadays).

Disclaimer: I have no experience with family use of a car and what features are useful for that.

We drive a Dacia Dokker - totally happy with it. Not the most comfy car, but in the end we need to drive from A to B for as little money as possible.

We = my wife and me, our 2 children and our german shepherd dog :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Depends what you need and what you use your car for. Commuting to work? Forget a car, get a scooter or a GA and a bicycle (a.k.a Bahnhofvelo). Having weekend trips with the family? Look at VW Californias. They are expensive but there is hardly any depreciation if sold within the warranty period (which can go up to 5 yrs). The downside is that they are expensive as hell (did I also mention about the price? :slight_smile: )

If you really want to save every penny I’m sure you can get a 10-yr old Golf or an Octavia Combi that still runs about 10+ more years before going to scrap or export. But this also means: all service in Germany and pure luck with the drivetrain :slight_smile: