ETF tax complications, moving from Ireland

Hello Everyone, :blush:

Firstly, I would like to say this forum has been invaluable in terms of knowledge I have gained over the past number of weeks. :slightly_smiling_face:

My quick story; I’m 30 yrs old from Ireland and I have just moved (hopefully long-term) to Zurich. I have been thinking about investing my savings but because of COVID and other personal circumstances it got postponed until now as I turned 30 and it made me thing about the future even more (from financial point of view).

I have been paying taxes in Ireland for 5 years now since I graduated and January is my last month in my current job in Ireland and I start new one in Zurich in a few days. I already opened DeGiro account and I had to provide residence for tax purposes (Ireland).

So I have approx. €40k saved, of which €20k I would be happy to put into a long term investment. My initial plan was to put it all into ‘Vanguard FTSE All-World UCITS ETF USD Acc’ (Irish Domiciled) and contribute around 1-2k a month to start with.

Now the more I read about investments the more I’m convinced that Ireland is a great place to invest your money, unless you live in Ireland… Any dividends and capital gains from an Irish / EU / EEA domiciled ETF are subject to 41% tax, which is an absolute joke. For that reason, since I moved to Switzerland already, it would make perfect sense if I paid taxes on any investments in Switzerland and not in Ireland.

My questions are: if I started investing now (after I changed my residency to Switzerland in DeGiro) would my capital gains / dividends be subject to tax in Ireland or Switzerland? Or perhaps I should wait with investing until next year (which I would rather avoid, I’m very eager to do it ASAP)?