Entrepreneurship vs employment

Hi everyone,

This is the first thread I start, and I’m doing so because I am interested in your professional situation and your opinion on the subject.

Here and there I read that people are mostly saving on their salary and investing in the market, one way or another. I also read that the best investment one could make is in oneself, and I think I kind of agree.

Since a lot of people here seem to work in an IT related field (maybe it’s a bias, not sure), and since this is probably the field where starting a company is the easiest, I am wondering how many of you actually took the leap and why.
Same goes for the other way around, if you prefer being employed I would gladly read your opinion.

As an introduction, I have been working in IT for more than 13 years, and I founded two companies last year after spending time in small companies and even a startup. One of my companies is merely a vehicle to bill the services I provide, but the other one is a startup with currently no revenue but a promise of future growth – hence the investment.

Looking forward to exchanging on this topic :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I personally believe that entrepreneurship is one of the best thing one can do for himself and the good of humanity in the same time - it’s the engine of civilisation and a force of personal growth. I leave however this social grace for my post-FI life as I don’t want to break my current work-life balance. I’m working at 80% and spend rest of the time with my family. I think this arrangement would be difficult while running a business, even a small one.

PS. “Entrepreneurship is a personal growth engine disguised as a business pursuit.” – James Clear

2 Likes

Hi romzzz,

glad you started this topic! I took the leap mid of 2018 and created my first company. Never looking back ever since. End of last year, I created my 2nd company.

One of the big advantages of being self-employed: you are your own boss