Cruise control & speed cameras

I can confirm I have all those features on my fatass-diesel-german-branded-notatallmustachian-SUV from 2016, so it’s nothing exceptional…

Fair enough, I’m no car expert and haven driven any latest ICE cars. Btw I hope these features trickle down to all cars soon, and that drivers use them. It’s annoying to put cruise control to 120 on Autobahn and then you catch up with a guy that does anything from 100 to 120. Then you overtake him and he suddenly does 130, so you have to really go over the limit to finish that overtaking. And if everyone put their tempomat to 120 it would be a much more pleasant drive…

4 Likes

last year I rented a 2019 Tiguan (or Touran?) which have this feature on tempomat. When arriving faster than the car before it automatically decelerate, than come back to the previous speed when the car in front change lane (or go faster).

Everyone at 120 tempomat would be great, however :

• Not all cars/tempomat systems have exactly the same calibration, it can vary
  • 120 km/h on your car doesn’t mean “real” 120km/h speed. You can see that with an additional GPS.
  • In Bern Canton it seems that every driver have his own speed limit he decide to go on any given day. It’s totally random but extremely constant at the same time. If it’s 80, then the BE will decide that for him, it’s 50 and that’s it. He’ll drive at 50.000km/h all day, without giving a damn about you become crazy behind him… :slight_smile: (sorry for the BE readers, but that’s so true… ^^)
1 Like